My breakup letter to my former smartphone

Dear Mr. Smartphone:

I don’t know if this will come as a surprise to you, but I have
grown restless in our relationship. It has been gradual and I have wavered
about this decision, but I think the time has come to go our separate ways

I know we have been together for a long time – probably close to
10 years or so by now. As it is with most relationships, things were great in
the beginning. There was really nothing to compare to you, and you were steady.
You weren’t flashy, but you always delivered. And you were there through the
ups and downs in life. Sometimes you brought great news, and sometimes you
delivered sad news. But most days were filled with a comfortable routine. I
could glance at you and you would signal to me with your sweet and gentle red
light. Maybe I eventually took our relationship for granted, but it became so
automatic.

Others did start to appear, and at first they were easy to resist.
They were just too brash, had too much swagger. You were familiar. I knew what
I had in you. Although you were steadfast, you did improve and change over
time. You grew, offered more options, and admittedly, you became better
looking. I mean it with all of my heart when I say that I appreciated these
changes as I knew you were just trying to make me happy year after year. But I
have changed too. When we first became an item, I was a young, ambitious
professional. Staying connected to work was something I felt compelled to do
and you helped me achieve this. But I am older now. I still work hard, but I
strive for more balance in my life now and need a partner who will support the
things that are equally important. I will admit that I am looking forward to
the fun and excitement my new partner will offer to me. Things like being able
to tell me what song is playing on the radio, or what the rating is of a
particular wine when I am at dinner with friends. I know it may not seem all
that important, but I want to be able make my photos look like our family
photos from the 70s. I am sorry, but that is just something you can’t do for
me, no matter how much you might want to.

I will admit, I do feel a bit guilty about ending things. I knew
Friday night would be the last night we would be together. When I plugged you
in for the last time, I did experience a wave of nostalgia for all that we have
been through together. I waited for your little red light to blink at me just
one last time. But I knew I was making the right decision.

So thanks for the memories and I wish you and those who carry on
with you all the best.

Regards,

Bridgett

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My breakup letter to my former smartphone

  1. kirstyes says:

    Love this Bridgett – so what are you moving on to – iPhone or Android or…?

    • I have switched to the iPhone, and it has been great! I have had an iPad for about a year, so I knew the apps were good. One thing that I really like is the speed of web access and how web-based emails open directly to view. Truthfully, I am a little sheepish about how much I really love it!!

Leave a Reply

